CAA 2010



The CAA2010 Annual General Meeting will be held on Thursday, April 8, 2010, 17.15-18.15,
Manuel de Falla Room, Congress and Exhibition Center, Granada, Spain.

 With Nick Ryan in the chair and 86 members present.


1. The Minutes of the last CAA-AGM

  • The minutes of the CAA2009 Annual General Meeting on held on Thursday, March 26, 2009, 14.00-15.30, Colony E, Williamsburg Lodge, Williamsburg, VA, USA are accepted.

2. Matters arising:

  • None

3. Chairman’s report.

  • The Acting Steering Committee (with Nick present by teleconferencing) has been gathered in Granada on the 25th of January 2010. Initiatives presented at the last AGM has resulted in the following decisions

a) Publication Policy: according to its mandate given at the last AGM, Hans Kamermans has been installed as Publication Officer. The process for Printing on demand together with Open Access publication has been further assessed (see below).

b) After the presentation of the Beijing-bid and the announcements of several future bids, the AGM of 2009 empowered the SC to continue negotiations and present a plan at next years AGM. This has led to the acceptance of the Beijing bid and the invitation to the University of Southampton (UK) and the University of Perth (Australia) to deliver bids at the present AGM.

  • The chairman expresses his thanks towards Franco Niccolucci and his team and especially Elizabeth Jerem for preparing and delivering the CAA2004 Prato Proceedings at the present conference. The process was extremely long and tedious, but the result is welcomed with gratitude.
  • As a consequence of the difficulties encountered the publication of the CAA2008 Budapest Proceedings has been delayed. The secretary has been shown a master of the proceedings which is ready for 66%.
  • A major accomplishment has been reached by the team of Bernie Frischer from Williamsburg. Within the year they presented here in Granada the proceedings from CAA2009. Only once before became a publication available so fast! The AGM thanks Bernie with a warm applause.

4. Treasurer’s report.

  • Tragically Steven Stead has suffered and is still recovering from rather severe health conditions and was unable to travel. He did however manage to deal with the bursaries: 27 applicants received in total € 11.325,-.
  • The UK and NL bank accounts show together a positive balance of ca. € 15.000,-

5. Election of officers and auditor and the Steering Committee membership.

  • The present Chairman (Nick Ryan was nominated, agreed to stand and was re-elected unopposed.
  • The present Treasurer (Stephen Stead) was nominated, agreed to stand and was re-elected unopposed.
  • The present Secretary (Guus Lange) was nominated, agreed to stand and was re-elected unopposed.
  • The present Membership Secretary (Mercedes Farjas) was nominated, agreed to stand and was re-elected unopposed.
  • The present Publication Officer (Hans Kamermans) was nominated, agreed to stand and was re-elected unopposed.
  • No auditor was nominated

The following are ex-officio members of the Steering Committee for 2010-2011:

Leif Isaksen (student and low income)
Geoff Avern (students & low income)
Elisabeth Jerem (CAA2008 organiser)
Javier Melero Rus (CAA2010 organiser)
Zhongke Wu (CAA2011 organiser)
Dave Wheatley (CAA2012 organiser)
Graeme Earl (CAA 2012 organiser and CAAUK)

Hans Kamermans (CAANL and UISPP C04 liaison)
Juan Barceló (CAAEs)
Achille Felicetti (CAAIt)
Alexandra Figueiredo (CAAPortl)
Vinod Nautiyal (CAAIndia)
Axel Posluschny (CAADe)
Jeffrey Clark (CAANA)
Espen Uleberg (CAANo)
Daniel Löwenborg (CAASe)

6. Membership.

  • The number of attendees at CAA2010 is 342. The number of the total membership (Members pay their membership fee and remain members for one year) is 343.

7. CAA2011

  • Zhongke Wu presents the progress of the organization of CAA2011 in Beijing which will be held from April 12 – 17, 2011

8. CAA2012

  • David Wheatly and Graeme Earl present the bid from Southampton for CAA2012 that will be held from March 26 – 30, 2012. The bid is accepted nearly anonymously and unopposed.
  • Ariana Traviglia, Felicity Morel-EdnieBrown and Ian Johnson present the bid from Australia for hosting CAA2013 from March 25-29, 2013. The bid is accepted nearly anonymously and unopposed.
  • Unofficially a bid has been announced for 2014, but details will follow at the AGM 2011.

9. Publication of proceedings.

  • Hans Kamermans explains shortly the new publication process and the financial consequences. The principle is that all papers will be accessible in an Open Access environment. A selected number of papers will be published by Printing on Demand. The number of pages of each volume will range from 300 – 400. The best solutions for hosting and service provision are still researched. The proposal is to continue the process and this is accepted with no one opposed.

10. Any other business.

  • The motion to install a CAA Semantic Special Interest Group has been received by the secretary. This proposed by Leif Isaksen and seconded by Axel Posluschny. The motion is passed unopposed.
  • The following local chapters are preparing to form:
    • CAA-Australia
    • CAA-Hungary
    • CAA-Sweden

Nick Ryan thanks the host and the delegates and closes the AGM at 18.30

Dr. A.Guus Lange
secretary Steering Committee
Computer Applications and Quantitative Methods in Archaeology
(April 12, 2010)

Comments are closed.